Dr. Umesh Chandra Jena

Born :- 12-Feb-1964
Place of Birth :- Sirishpal, Keonjhar District, Odisha

Umesh Chandra Jena, one of the true devotees of odiya literature was born in Sirishpal village of Keonjhar district which is well known as the Tarini Khyetra of Odisha. Since childhood, his aim was to be a renowned engineer. After completing primary & intermediate education, he successfully completed his technical graduation in mining engineering. Then, Mr. Jena made his motherland Odisha proud by successfully achieving the prestigious Ph.D degree in mining engineering from Corllin University, Dist. Columbia, U.S.A. Now Dr. Umesh Chandra Jena is working in the Department of Steel and Mines, Govt. of Odisha and presently posted as Additional Director, Department of Mines-cum State Head, ITPMU Bhubaneswar in the Directorate of Mines, Odisha. He has been holding different posts in different district since 1987 and has come after all the blues and greens that the department had encounter in these days and successfully continuing till day.

Writing Poems, Short Stories, Novels and books are his hobbies. From the pen Dr. Umesh Chandra Jena, a book consisting of ten numbers of short stories named Apurna (2011) was considered as one of his finest creation whose four thousand copies have been sold out. Another Novel named Nastacharitra (2012) created milestone in odiya literature after the selling of more than four thousand copies. Also his book Apurna has been translated into English in the name of Something Missing which again proved to be a best seller and added a golden chapter in his literature career. Many appreciation letters have been received for these books.  Besides this, another book of him named Sirshaku Rasta (2014) received numerous love and blessings. In addition to that, his two creations Pranyabhisara & Daityara Dardhayta has provided Dr. Jena a distinguished & remarkable place in odiya poet category.

Dr. jena has received Samajaina Award (2011 & 2012), Kendujhar Award (2012) from Keonjhar Vikash Mancha, Bhubaneswar, Sahitya Award (2011) from Jaimatadi Club (Keonjhar), Duradarshi Award (2012) from Duradarshi Anustan, Sunabesha Award (2012) from Puri mandir prashasan and District Prashasan, Capital poster Award (2012) from The Capital Poster Organization, Amari anusthan Award (2013) from Amari anusthan (puri), Multifaceted Personality Award (2014) from Indus Valley Times Organization, Krantidhara Annual Award (2015), Banishri Award (2019), Duradarshi Seva Award (2022), Adikabi Sarala Sahitya Award (2022), Utkal Ratna Award (2022) by Puri temple administration for his unconditional dedication and devotion towards odiya language. 

Short Stories Collection

Copyright © 2024 Odia Virtual Academy. All rights reserved      Total Visitors-   1